Discouraged and Alone

• Re: This is a safe place

Hi there,

I am new to this, so please forgive me if I am doing it incorrectly.

So far I am still working with the medical community to get a clear, satisfactory diagnosis. This is difficult, frustrating and disappointing.

Also, I feel quite alone in my struggle. My friends and family try to support but they don't really understand what I am experiencing. I have so much to be grateful for in my life and yet I have days like today. Today I feel low, discouraged and alone.

Any words of wisdom and encouragement would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Shelbelle

• @hutchman What you are describing is a common experience we hear often from people in pain. As we often say at Pain BC, "You are not alone." An article on our website gives a bit more insight: "The kind of depression that emerges from chronic pain conditions is usually reactive – it occurs as a reaction to our experience of unrelenting pain and associated limitations and losses."

It is great that you are being proactive – it is so inspiring to hear! If you like, we have some mental health articles on depression on our website. You can take an assessment as well. https://www.liveplanbe.ca/pain-education/depression